home electrics

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi all,

im currently rewiring my brothers whole house. i've done a electrical course back in 2001. the problem is i have forgotten alot of it since i work in a different field now. the guy from the council came out today to check the 1st fix.
he came out with some issues.

1. their were no drawings of the design.? is this right because i am a unregistered electrician and doing it on a DIY basis. my brother has just told me where he wanted the sockets and lights i have just run the cable to their location. do i have to do some basic drawings then?

2. earthing hasnt been done yet but he knows about this beacuse the gas meter is being moved . should i use 10mm on both cold water pipe and gas. ? in the bathroom should i use 6mm earthing cable to connect the sink /bath and basin together . where should i run this earth cable to . would the nearest socket be ok? because their is no airing cupboard and i ve read somewhere that you shouldnt run it back to the consumer unit???

3. he said when he comes back he wants the measurements done before the system is power up.I know this is right , but i havent got the equipment to test the circuits.im sure i read on the net somewhere that if you are paying the council to send a inspector out he would do the checks. cant remeber where i read it . but beacuse my brother has paid i think?? £250 for the full check i thought they would be doing all the measurements????

4. lastly is it ok to wire up smoke alarms using the power from the lighting circuit as ive read the insructions and they say to be wire using 1mm cable?? . also because they have to be interlink would it be ok to use the t+e cable where i would put a colour sleve on the bare earth to use that as the link cable??

your help will be appreciated..

Sponsored Links