Home extension & the 45 degree code.

If I was a planning officer and that was my job, I wouldn't be bothered that bothered about the 45 degree rule as it doesn't oversail the lines dramatically.

Then you would not be doing your job properly

The council has published policy stating that the 45 degree rule will be applied. There is no justification for the rule to be relaxed in this instance other than the OP wants a big extension.

The planner must enforce their own policy, or have a very exceptional reason not to. Wanting a big extension is not a reason

As a planning officer, your job is to look after the interests of the neighbours too, and perhaps the neighbour does not want a big extension next door blocking all their light

Sponsored Links
Hence why I'm not a planning officer :rolleyes:

As per your first post (^woody^), you stated...

Remember that the 45 degree line is taken from habitable rooms only, so if one of those lines is from a kitchen, then that does not count

I know the link to the guidance document was mentioned after your post and in that, it states...

To comply with the 45 o Code, extensions should be designed so as not to cross the appropriate 45 o line from an adjoining neighbour’s nearest window which lights a habitable room or kitchen.

And after a past experience with a LA I deal with, I put the 45 degree rule question to their senior planner and how it does not include kitchens to which he replied that "some" kitchens are deemed as habitable rooms if they are deeper than 2m.

It would be a lot easier if the OP put his proposed drawing infront of the planners for their informal opinions.

Hi devil damo

How would you judge my case, just out of interest?

My neighbours proposed first floor extension will block over half my window.
Their house is higher and set further forward than ours
They will break the 45 degree rule by nearly 13feet