Honest builder?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I own a detached house. It is breezeblock with roughcast applied. The house was build in 1976 - an ex council house. I tried to insulate my walls but I was told they could not do the work because the render (drycast) had bossed in places. He advised that I repair the walls and the same time insulate them.

I have been saving for the last two years. I got a quote - £4900 to remove and replace all the roughcasting. I work full time so the person came to the house in my absence. I had another quote from another contractor who has a website with references. He approached it a different way. He told me that in most places the house was sound but in some places the render had bossed. He suggested putting up dry ridge to repair the edges of the gable. I thought that was a sensible idea. He quoted me £900 for the materials of the dry ridge and three days of labour. He told me £1000 for the roughcast. He suggested I then get the wall treated with special paint that will be guaranteed for 20 years by the manufacterer and his work is guaranteed for 10 years. I thought it all sounded fair and got a written quote from him. I paid a deposit of £200 to cover materials.

He came on Monday night to say he would be able to do the work today. He said there would be four of them to do the work. He said they had visitied and had a look at the roof and some of the batons were rotten so he would probably have to replace them whilst doing the work and it might cost a bit more. I hear from a neighbour he turned up mid morning. He said that there were two people working on the house and was here until about 3pm. When I got home the job looked good from the ground.

However he arrived and said that they had had to remove the whole roof, refelt the roof and found some asbestos! This really threw me as he had my number and told me nothing of this! I had agreed I would have another £500 for him and would give him the rest later.