Hot water OK, central heating not working unless water 'on'!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dear experts :idea: ,

I'm a novice but having an attempt at fixing what I think is a boiler problem :rolleyes: .

Boiler: Ideal Classic FF380 (6 years old)

PROBLEM: Central heating doesn't work on its own but it does if the hot water is 'on' at the same time :cry: .

OTHER INFO: works fine for hot water but doesn't fire up if only central heating 'on' button is pressed.

Am suffering in the credit crunch so any advice would be much appreciated! If i've left out some important detail, sorry but pls ask.

Many thanks, Anya :D

Sponsored Links
Need more info. ;)

Please read Before You Post a Question and supply the info requested.

Also, what controls do you have?
Do you have a pump?
How many motorized valves do you have and what type are they?

Thanks, answers in green!

1) Boiler make / model (gas or oil)
IDEAL CLASSIC FF380 - GAS

2) What is / is not happening.
CENTRAL HEATING WORKING IF HOT WATER ON BUT NOT ON ITS OWN
Central heating will not fire up boiler when switched on, even if room thermostat turned up (it clicks around 17 degrees).
Also, before when the central heating was working, the boiler was firing up intermittently even when not switched on.

3) Has ANYTHING else been done or changed recently.
Central heating was turned off for 2-3 months.
4) When did the problem start?
Around 2 weeks ago (been running central heating by heating water at same time).
Many thanks again,

Anya

More details:

I have a Unvented water heater with a 'WILO' pump
Has Honeywell V4043H1056 motorised valve
Has another box(?) Danfoss Type HPA2 switched to auto.

Many thanks for your time to advise.

Sponsored Links
ITS that time of year again when the heating is switched back on the probable cause here is the 3 port or 2 port valve is faulty or the thing is stuck which you will have to take off (easy) and turn the spindle with a pair of pliers to loosen spindle.