House value

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can we find a reasonable approximation of the underlying value of our dwelling?
In DIY style, the experts just do not really seem to agree.
I have a plan …. But I am far from an expert.
Perhaps we can break down the costs involved in buying land and rebuilding our houses, by using some readily available information off the web?

Rebuild costs: - here
There could be a site clearance component to the ‘rebuild’ cost, given that the info originates from an insurance based source.

Land values: - here
Explore this page to it's end for interesting historical data.
The land values will be related to geographical area in Hectares (10,000 sq meters )

We will need the approximate area of the house and also of the plot, in square meters.

An example from the West Country: -

Small plot (<1 Hectare) Land approximate cost at Oct 2003 £2,500,000 per hectare approximately £250 per sq meter. ( for the sake of interest 1 Hectare is about 2.47 acres )

House 4 bed large semi-detached plus single detached (non-precast) garage.
Plot size 312 square meters … land value approx £78,000
Cost to rebuild approximate £130,000.. A house of average quality.
  • Currently selling at = £265,000
    Land plus rebuild = £208,000
    Difference = £ 57,000
I am saying that, broadly speaking, the underlying value of the house in question is £57K below the ‘market’ valuation; it is therefore overvalued by around 27%

Are the assumptions reasonable?

P

Sponsored Links
YOu forgot to add in the 3l factor that is obviously worth the extra 27% for that particular property :)

3 wot ?
You street people should know we farmers aint that subtle.
P

I assume the 3l factor is "location, location, location" (not talking about the TV program with the pretty but porky woman ).