How can I have a decent shower?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, I've don e a bit of reading round the problem but can't find definitive answers and I was wondering if someone could help.

I want to have a decent powerful shower.

We live in a 2nd storey flat in London. We have a Remeha Avanta Plus 28c combi boiler (DHW Flow Rate at 35°C Rise – 11.5 l/min). The flat is a medium sized 2 bed. The boiler usually shows about 1 bar of pressure.

The current shower is a mixer affair.

It starts powerful and then slows to a drizzle which regains a bit of power when the shower head is dropped below the taps. This partially regained power continues when the showerhead is put back.

Oddly, the shower gets more powerful if you turn up the temperature.

I'm not after a police water cannon, just something a bit powerful.

What would anyone recommend?

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert, and am certainly no plumber, but I have my head around the difference between pressure and flow etc because fo the job I'm in.

You say that your shower STARTS OFF fine, but slows to a trickle. this means that you have some STORED PRESSURE in your system, but that the FLOW (to continuously replenish that pressure) is not sufficient.

Either that, or your incoming pressure is sufficient to fill the pipes above your shower (hence you get a short "gravity fed" shower, but the pressure is unable to give you more than a trickle at the eight of your shower head.

Neither of the above have anything to do with your shower.

First step is to establish whether your problem is incoming pressure or incoming flow. These are two different things.

Do you have plenty flow from your kitchen tap? If so, then your problem is not flow into your property, but could still be mains pressure, or flow within your property.