How do I sort this damp stain on the ceiling?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
Recently I had some leak in the shower upstairs as one of the silicon linings had come loose. I have fixed that and there's no more water leakage. But it has left me with this problem on the ceiling in the room below. How do I go about it?
1. The old paint comes off in layers and if I continue pulling it out, it may extend right across the ceiling!
2.Any way of getting a smooth finish to enable painting over it?
3. All suggestions with details would be really appreciated as I am not very good at diy. Apologies!

Many Thanks

rkyiiw.jpg
245lefn.jpg
[/img]

Sponsored Links
I'm no DIY expert but I would lightly sand around ther affected are and then feather in (lightly brush) some stain block paint that takes moisture and stops any further algae or staining from the damp and the when dry paint back over with the same paint as your ceiling to cover.

I'm no DIY expert but I would lightly sand around ther affected are and then feather in (lightly brush) some stain block paint that takes moisture and stops any further algae or staining from the damp and the when dry paint back over with the same paint as your ceiling to cover.

Thanks for that. I am comfortable using a stain block,etc to sort out the stain.My worry is the appearance of apparent depression on the ceiling due to the loss of thickness at the big spot. Any way to completely conceal the defect and make it even with the surrounding areas? Do I need a filler?

I have enclosed an image of something similar to illustrate what I am talking about.
52dft2.jpg

Sponsored Links
I can see that some of the plaster skim had come away and agree that you will need to level the surface out before painting.