how do i test for earth ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've just moved into a new flat. I want to test that the water pipes and central heating pipes have been earthed properly.

Can I use a multimeter to do this ? How exactly can that be done ?

Sponsored Links
I would of thought that a basic test is to test continuity (ie. near zero ohms on the multi) between the pipes and a nearby earth point (ie. an earth prong on a socket). But saying that I know it is possible to get a low-ohm reading on a wire when its nearly broken or wouldnt stand up to any sort of load (like what is required to trip a fuse etc.). Plus im NOT an electrician only someone with some knowledge (more electronics) so dont take what I said as any definite answer!!
I have some broken bonding under my bath, easy enough for me to cleanup the pipe and fix the earth clamp (not sure what you sparks/elecs call it) but still not a definite test which needs doing in my house at some point!

Im still wondering if anyone is going to say anything about this in another thread I have going..

To prove main equipotential bonding is in place you need to get a reading of 0.05 Omhs or less between the pipes and the main earthing terminal. You can do this using your multimeter and a length of conductor as a wander lead. Don't forget to zero out the leads and conductor. You need to also check the gas pipe.

SB

most multimeters are not going to give you meaningfull readings for values that low, they also don't tend to have a zeroing facility. To test this kind of thing properly you really need a proper low ohms meter.

Sponsored Links
I got a nice analogue meter with zeroing control. Does this mean that there is not 'load' test if you see what I mean?

You would still need to find the ends of the cable.

It is possible to get a 'satisfactory' reading despide the main earth being drastically undersized, or even non existant (if parallel paths exist)