How do you cut a pre-stressed lintel?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
What is the best way to cut a prestressed concrete lintel? I have an Angle grinder which I've never used before, i'm going to buy concrete lintels and need to cut them to size, Any tips? is the reinforcement bar going to damage the masonry cutting blade? do I need to use two different blades?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Just waz through it with the masonry fella.

Make sure the lintel is supported correctly when cutting. If there is a void beneath the cutting zone, that allows the lintel to drop right where you are cutting, it will snatch the blade.

Viciously. :eek:

When you say angle grinder, what size is it? Unless it’s a big brastard, it going to be hard work; I would consider hiring a MF petrol disc cutter, preferably with a diamond disk but a masonry disc will get through it.

But please be very careful, they are frighteningly brutal bits of kit. Whilst in for a routine op a couple of years ago a guy in the bed next to me had all but sliced off his foot with one whilst cutting fence posts! :( & the guy in the bed the other side had kneecapped himself with a chainsaw :eek:

Seemed like a bad omen at the time & couldn’t wait to get out of there! :confused:

Sponsored Links
Norfolk eh? :LOL:
You know how to hurt don’t you; :cry: I’m strictly an incomer being London born & Essex bred but I wouldn’t swap it now ;) . The guy with ½ a foot was Suffolk but the guy with no knee cap was actually quiet a toff, by accent at least; probably an over enthusiastic incomer. We are quiet rural here (real farm next door) & most of our near neighbors & best friends are now locals, both Norfolk & Suffolk so we know all the jokes :LOL: ; but you could not wish for better folks. Next door are also incomers like us but, strangely, are the only ones we don’t seem to get on with very well; but they are, of course, much better than us & it goes without saying, the locals ;)