How do you go from newly cleared, overgrown garden, to lawn and vegetable garden? (newbie)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey folks,

Gardening newbie here. Just got a new house that has a garden which hasn't been touched in years. Taken weeks to cut it all back, demolish rotten sheds, dig up old stumps and trees, bushes etc.

Going to dig up that concrete path we found and old clothesline (if we can), and have the asbestos removed that we've found in the hedges around the garden. Also planning on building a couple compost bins since there's a big compost pile at the bottom I'm guessing it'd be a shame to waste? It's now a bit bigger than we expected, but the problem is we have no idea what to do after that.

What we'd like is half of it as a lawn (it's maybe 5m longer than shown in the picture), and the other half vegetable garden/flowers etc. So I guess two different approaches perhaps? The top part is quite uneven what with digging up tree stumps and old flower beds, but that's where we'd like a lawn. The bottom part (most of the picture) is where we'd like to have the rest. Be nice to keep the pear tree in it, pears are nice!

Any thoughts as to how we should approach this would be much appreciated. The more idiot-proof the suggestions the better. Been poking youtube, and there's lots of useful information there, but mostly at different stages or views of different stages of gardening. We have no clue how to get from this to what we want essentially.

Like do we dig up the what grass there is currently in the lawn area and put down grass seed? How do you get it level? Do we just dig up the all the vegetation on the vegetable area or is this not a good time of year to do that?

Oh, also, should I not use tanalised lumber to build compost bins?

Any direction would be appreciated really.

Many thanks,

Baps.

IMAG0036.jpg

Sponsored Links