How Many Fence Posts With One Bag Of Postcrete?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've never done any fencing before, and was wondering how many posts each 20 kg bag of Postcrete will fix in place? Will be using standard tannalised wooden posts, either 3"x3" or 4"x4" and basic shed supplied wooden panels. The ground is mostly soil.

productTemplate

Sponsored Links
Thanks for your reply. I only have 3 posts to fix in ground, so perhaps if someone should guesstimate what size whole I should dig and whether 2 or 3 bags of Postcrete are needed. Panels are 6'x6'.

Untill you dig the hole you will not no?
Depends on roots ,rocks and how stable the ground is ?
A guess would be 2 bags at least per hole ?
If you go to wickes or B&Q you could buy extra bags of ballast and cement and take the ones you do not use back ? This would be cheaper than post mix.
4 bags of 25Kg ballast to 1 bag of cement ,do the maths ?

Sponsored Links
Bank on 1.5 - 2 bags per hole. For the small extra amount, I'd opt to stick with postcrete over mixing your own. It goes off in 10 minutes, at least hard enough to not to have to prop your post up temporarily, even on a windy day.

I've just been putting posts in using that stuff from B&Q. I didn't put the posts in that deep, about 50 cm and it took 2 bags. I am also not sure how good it works if you follow the instructions and fill the hole 1/4 with water and then pour the postcrete in, then add some more water from the top once you emptied the whole bag. Most of the postcrete will remain dry. You either have to stir it or add water and the postcrete simultaneously imo.