How Often Should I Be Watering?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've lay a few small plants and climbers in my front garden. The soil surrounding them is covered by weed-preventative membrane and then covered by 1cm of wood chipping.

Some of the plants already seem to be dying and I only planted them about 3 weeks ago. I think I may be either over-watering them or under-watering them.

In this heat, how often should I be watering them on average? Every day or every week? I'm new to gardening so haven't got much of a clue

Sponsored Links
I would suggest watering them every day but in the evening after 6 ish, as they will get more of the moisture then, during the day the water just evaporates in the heat, if not do it first thing in a morning but late evening is better, the later the better really...........

This is the reason why it is advisable to plant shrubs in autumn. By the time spring comes the root system will already have developed and the plant will be in a far better position to send out shoots and roots during the very busy spring. At the moment your shrubs have to develop their root sytems AND develop new shoots at the same time.

But don't despair, at least you've had the good sense to cover with a membrane and mulch and this will help to preserve moisture and keep the weeds at bay.

Having said all that, I planted two climbers about a month ago and did not use any weed blanket or mulch. They are in a south facing border and here in the south-east we haven't had rain for about five weeks. Neither of them are stressed out and I last watered them about a week ago. did you make sure the hole was well watered before planting? And was the rootball nice and wet before you planted them? And did you incorporate a sufficient amount of WFM. What type of soil have you got? Sandy or Clay?