How to board underside of loft stairs?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've started to board the underside of our loft stairs but not sure how to board under the 2 angled steps. Could anyone give me a tip? Thanks
IMG_0350.JPG

Sponsored Links
Depends how tight you need it to be. If not you can batten so that you would cover some of that vertical large sheet of plasterboard, maybe down to the second row of screws. Then board one sheet (steeply) over the battens and the next one above at the same pitch as the stairs.
If you don't have much headroom you'll need to cut one bit for each step which I imagine wouldn't look great.
PS I'm not a pro!

Could you get a curve in there?

Either dampening plasterboard so it becomes bendy, or dampening some and leaving it to bend on it's own against a wall may work.

You can get bendy mdf- possibly even a load of plunge saw cuts in some PB might be possible? You'd be relying on the outside paper to hold it all together

A template from cardboard would help shape wise.

Ive not done it myself but ive heard chicken mesh can be used to get the shape then plaster over the top. The more ridgid the mesh the better it can be shaped I guess.

Sponsored Links
you can elephant ar.se it with batterns and mesh to create a curve then bonding and plaster

Just come down vertically from the third visible step up and come out horizontally from the lowest kite tread visible. Dunner bother with fiddly curves. Pain to skim up too. Always end up with brush strokes in the finish.

I've made a start coming from the top down. I put some wood in the centre of the steps:

IMG_0360.JPG

Then stuck a board on with some odd triangle cuts:
IMG_0362.JPG

My missus (the boss) was wondering if we could fill and paint the underside of those 2 steps after it plastered?

Last edited:
That looks far better than I imagined it would- I thought a bigger area would be in the "curved" section