How to build a boioler cupboard?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Well, I just got a quote from a guy to box some pipes in, build a cupboard, and do a bit of framing up...he has quoted me £900 plus VAT!! :evil:

So, instead of this, I thought I would do the majority of it myself. I'm pretty new to DIY but I am learning quickly I'm happy to say. Already finished putting the kitchen units up and they are completely flush!

So, I was hoping along with the tips for boxing pipes in, someone could offer me advice on boxing in the boiler and creating a nice airing cupboard.

I know that one of the doors needs to be made slatted to allow for ventilation. I guess it will be a bit like boxing in a big pipe, except I need to have one door that opens with hinges..

Any tips are greatly appreciated (bar, 'its worth the money luv'!)

Cheers
minxka :idea:

Sponsored Links
I have done a few of these but it's difficult to advise without knowing more details. If the boiler is in a corner this is fairly easy. I assume you want a full height cupboard as you mentioned an airing cupboard.

Make a square frame with a rail about mid-height (to suit your boiler height). Make the frame slightly shorter then floor to ceiling distance. Fix the frame to a side panel and then fix vertical battens to the walls to screw the whole assembly to.

Screw through the battens from the inside to avoid having too many screws to hide.

Horizontal battens can then be fitted inside to take slatted shelves.

A pair of doors can then be surface mounted to your frame.

You can buy all sorts of vented panels to fix to your doors after you have cut a hole in them for ventilation, I would put one about 6" away from floor & ceiling.

Use some beading or cornice to close the gap at the top, or push it up to the ceiling before fixing to the walls and use skirting around the bottom.

There are other ways of doing this but I hope it helps.