1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

How to cable for a home network

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by padstar, 13 Jan 2020.

  1. padstar

    padstar

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    80
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am currently setting out containment and back boxes in our house ready for a rewire. At the same time i would like to run for a home network to increase the broadband set up around the house. The wifi isn't great.

    I would like a hard wired ethernet point in each room maybe with 3 or 4 to the main tv room. Is the correct a sensible system and how i should run it.

    I was thinking of using the loft space as the main routing area;

    1) Install single gang metal back box to each room
    2) Run Cat6 cable from each point to the loft
    3) Have a patch panel in the loft that each of the cables plugs in to
    4) Have an ethernet point located next to my BT point where the providers router is located
    5) Plug router into ethernet point to give a feed to the panel in the loft
    6) Panel in loft then distributes to each point within each room

    Is this how it works? I am trying to understand how the system works so could be completely wrong in what i have in my head!

    I will also be installing CCTV so would these also be routed to the loft space?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    3,660
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    router --------patch panel------devices which is pretty much what you describe.

    as for CCTV, depends on what CCTV and where your putting the cameras.

    best to have cameras -----NVR-----patch----router or directly to the router from NVR I guess.

    it is possible to have cameras over your network, usually done if you cant wire back to the NVR directly.
     
  4. padstar

    padstar

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    80
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. wgt52

    wgt52

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    505
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do you have a poor WiFi? Is it due to the house structure of the number of WiFi users in your neighbourhood? Where Ilive and I guess every other estate the number of WiFi users is now so great that it has become self defeating cause with the limited number of 2.4GHz channels interfering with them selves. 5GHz channels do not penetrate as far.
    I'd certainly recommend cabling to wall sockets if you can do it.
    Recommendations :-
    Assuming your router isn't co-located with your patch panel
    1: A Cat6 cable from Router to each TV point (certainly to the main TV point. )
    2: Rest of router LAN ports cabled to Patch panel.
    3: Suitable Hub to expand the router outlets.
    4: High Demand/Through-put outlets to have a direct Router patch connction
    5: All other outlets to be patched via Hub outlets.
     
  6. padstar

    padstar

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    80
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe the wifi signal is poor due to the construction of the house. Solid walls everywhere so the signal drops to next to nothing at each end of the house.
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Run 2 cables to each backbox and use double plates.
    You never know what the future brings, it may bring another internet requiring appliance.
     
  9. rikaka

    rikaka

    Joined:
    29 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    a single cat6 cable running from your router to a patch panel in the loft will allow you to pick and choose which point to activate but you would only be able to activate one point. a patch panel is a termation point not a network switch
     
  10. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    2,343
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    While you're doing the job, run at least 2 cables (CAT6 as sensible minimum) from each faceplate to your central point. Depending how your house is laid out you may end up not being able to get loads of cables from downstairs to upstairs- if this is the case then 2 patch panels and as many link cables from down to up (4 would be sensible) should work. You'll need a network switch at your patch panel to connect multiple points to your existing router- if you have 2 patch panels then 2 switches. PoE CCTV cameras- they're going to work best going straight to the recorder/controller rather than through a switch.

    Do yourself a sketch of where you want network points and work out how you're going to get the cabling to the loft/understairs/wherever your patch panels will end up. Worth doing segment lengths so you can compare cost of different positions for patchfields (CAT6 isn't particularly pricey but it isn't free- about £70 for 305m. Stay away from CCA.)
     
  11. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,349
    Thanks Received:
    653
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I haven't used one, but my gut reaction to the spec is that this is like going backwards in time. They're low cost, but it's for a reason.

    On the plus side, I think just having a hardwired wireless access point close to where you want to use a wireless device is very likely to be quicker than the wireless from some basic ISP-supplied wireless router. Quite how well though the speeds stand up as you move away from the WAP is anyone's guess. Some WAPs are better than others.

    There don't seem to be any independently-conducted reviews of this product yet, so this may well be a suck-it-and-see purchase.
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page