How to do a Central heating power flush

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey guys,

I'm wanting to get a Power Flush done on my central heating and am thinking of renting out the machine and chemicals to get it done. BUT! I've never done this kind of thing before and I wondered if anyone could give me any tips / guidance on how to actually do it?

Cheers :p

Sponsored Links
I wouldn't bother renting a machine etc. You could quickly spend over a £100 on rental, chemicals and useful fittings and tools to carry out the job properly. Your then in a position of having no experience of how to carry out the task or over come any potential problems, and it could be money down the drain, literally!
Try manually flushing it with chemicals and draining/refilling. I think there's something in the FAQ to advise on this.

Hi Kev,

Sorry if I seem really stupid here, but I did look at the FAQ and there isn't a particular post covering how to do a Power Flush.

Did I miss it?

Sponsored Links
no i ain't been around for a bit its gone :oops:

you add chemicals and run the system will shift some

removing rads and putting a hose in them is a better plan

most of the dirt settles in the rads

you can also flush the system with a hose ie mains pressure :idea:

i ain't a great advocate of powerflushing as a one stop fix all solution

I agree with Kev. Powerflushing per se, is over rated. Just as good a job can be done using just mains pressure water if you know what you're doing.

It is very rare I get my powerflush machine out these days ;)

Is there any issue of having to rebalance the radiators / boiler pressure afterwards? That is really the bit that bugs me.

My plan was to:

1) Find the stop-tap. Turn water off in the house.
2) Unbolt one of the radiators, carefully lift off the wall and drain it outside by letting the water run out into a drain