how to fit a 600mm dushwasher into a 580mm gap... HELP!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys. It's my first time here and my very first post. I have used the forums in the last couple of days to do loads to my new house but I have come up against a tricky (for me) porblem that hopefully someone here can help me with.

Basically I have a baby on the way and so the missus wants a dishwasher put in for all the extra washing up. Now I have got a mate who is a plumber to come round and do all the plumbing in and such and I'm ok with the electrics part as I think it will just plug into a double socket the problem I have got is this. Ive seen most dishwahers are a standard 600mm in width and I already have a gap in the kitchen that it will almost go into. the problem is that the gap is only 580mm. Ive got the fridge on side and the cabinets the other. there is no room for the fridge to move so I need to cut the cupboards back.

I have been told a friend of a friend will come to do it but he cant seem to put a price on the work without looking at it but he doesnt want to come out just to look and says he will just turn up and do the work. Now we are on a tight budget what with the nipper on the way so cant just pay whatever the final cost is without having an idea of whether its within our budget. So can anyone advise me on 2 points. a. how much I could be looking at cost wise and or b. how i could go about doing it myself.

i would be looking at taking 20mm from the kickboard the side of cabinet door and shelving and also from the studwork frame that the cupboards are mounted to.

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated as wordwwok type stuff is fairly new to me. tools required and the best way to go about it would be ideal.

Thanks very much in advance and I look forward to reading your responses.

Jay

Sponsored Links
Why not buy a slimline dishwasher, I know Argos do a 450 wide model for less that 200quid.

edit, didn't read 300mm. :oops: