How to replace a Room Thermostat

The way forward is to work out how it is controlled, in the main we follow plans C, S, W, Y etc. Most likely is the C plan which has been modified over time, so one can look at it as three stages. C-Plan_old2.jpg this is the really old system there was no control over DHW other than the programmer, then C-Plan_old.jpg this one added a thermostat, so in the summer you can switch on DHW 24/7 and it will only fire when required and then this C-Plan.jpg where a motorised valve has been added to DHW so it can be switched off and the temperature controlled independent from the CH.

Although the latter looks good I was advised against it as it puts extra strain on the boiler because when it switches off there is no where for the get to go, with latter boilers there are fans that continue to run after boiler has turned off to cool it through the flue, how true this is I don't know, I am not a plumber, I am an electrician.