How to tell if you have Gravity or Pumped HW?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys

I was just wondering how to tell what setup you have if you can't get access to pump, valves etc without pulling up carpet.

If I put my hand on the pipe leading to the HW tank coil (when cold obv) I can feel the water being pumped through it if I have both CH & HW turned on yet if it's just HW turned on I don't feel the water being pumped. I got a new programmer fitted and the plumber isn't coming till Wed to check over system as per my older post I'm getting loud banging from the boiler if I only have HW on. I saw in the Programmer manual there's a jumper for either pumped or gravity but was just wondering if it's normal for gravity hot water to become pumped only when heating on too or if gravity never gets pumped regardless if heating is on or off.

I don't want to mess with jumpers or ever pull off face plate as that's an experts domain and not mine - I'm a copier engineer, not a heating engineer!

Any opinions or thoughts from you fine experts would be great

Many thanks

Steve

Sponsored Links
Hi Steve

What boiler do you have? If it is a back boiler, pump might be at side of chimney breast?

Is the cylinder primary flow and return a 28mm ? The one on side middle, one lower the same side.

Daniel.

Hi Steve

What boiler do you have? If it is a back boiler, pump might be at side of chimney breast?

Is the cylinder primary flow and return a 28mm ? The one on side middle, one lower the same side.

Daniel.

Hi Daniel

We have a baxi back boiler. Crawling around on the living room floor I think I can hear the slightest hum under the floorboards near the pipes that run up the side of the chimney. I was sure the pump was in the upstairs bedroom but I can only find two fat pipes coming up from down stairs leading off to the hot water tank in the next room and two thin pipes coming up from downstairs leading off to all the rads