How would you disguise/improve/cover this concrete monstrosity

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We've had a large retaining wall built in our rear garden out of concrete blocks - it's a very functional wall, but doesn't look great.

I wanted to render it, but have been told render won't last due to the moisture from the soil penetrating the blocks.

Any other ideas to cover this kind of large wall area? It will enclose a patio eventually.

Attachments

• 38218138c68a544acb4b642e35223dd7.jpg
    38218138c68a544acb4b642e35223dd7.jpg
    324 KB · Views: 90
Sponsored Links
Hi Jay,

I'm not a professional, but I believe there should be a waterproofing layer between the soil and wall and also weepholes/drainage, if in place this should presumably keep moisture from the soil away from the wall and any render.

I have both painted and clad block walls with timber at mine and they both look a lot better than bare blocks.

I've seen people do good stuff with pallet wood if you can get a lot for free. Possibly uPVC siding/cladding if that's your cup of tea, I need to get more wood cladding and am crying about the price at the moment!

Fit 2 horizontal batons to it and then bamboo screening to that, there are all sorts of screening materials available if you look at a garden centre etc.

Sponsored Links
ivy is a terror to remove once it has got too big and you don't like it

fast growing climbers like Clematis quickly form an ugly mound

fast growers don't stop growing once they reach your preferred size

you could fix stainless screw-eyes to it now, and them you will be able to attach wires, nets or battens as you choose in future.