1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

HP laptop Memory Upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by johnwr, 9 Aug 2008.

  1. johnwr

    johnwr

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    215
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have just bought a 1GB Sodimm from an online shop near Goole, E***er.
    I used the memory program and it said that I need-

    Crucial 1Gb 200 pin DDR2 Sodimm PC2 5300

    When I put this memory in and turned on the laptop nothing happens, I then removed it and the laptop works fine. I rechecked the wegsite and it's saying I should use a different module, all the numbers etc seem to be the same except for a different part number. Can anybody help please.
    regards John
     
  2. dave.m

    dave.m

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,742
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Return it and ask if they have one with the part no. and type that matches exactly.
    Putting wrong memory sticks into a computer can result in serious damage.
    If the online shop cannot help then either get it from Crucial who guarantee that it will work, or go to the HP site for spares:
    http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/sz4/printer-computer-accessories.html

    dave
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. Deluks

    Deluks

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2005
    Messages:
    6,816
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've never come across a desk or laptop that was that fussy about memory. As long as the specs and voltage are correct then it should at least fire up ok. I'd say installation error or faulty ram. Did it click properly into place? Crucial memory is usually good to go.
     
  5. johnwr

    johnwr

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    215
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply's, I was in contact with the sellers this morning and the technical quy reckons the module would be OK for the laptop and said that it must be faulty. I have to return it to get them to check it.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. johnwr

    johnwr

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    215
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry for being very slow at replying, but at the moment I an in France, sunning myself. I had a reply from the vendors and it turns out that the memory module was faulty, I will fit it when I get back to blighty next week.
    Thanks to the people that replyed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page