I only get heating when water's on

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I awoke today to find that my central heating doesn't work so started googling and it has led me here, seems like a great site for this kind of thing.

I've been reading a few posts and here's what I've deduced, please tell me your thoughts.

At first I was getting no click from the thermostat so I thought that was the culprit, then I read a post where there was nothing unless the hot water was on so I tried that. The heating comes on and rads heat up, plus the thermostat is active.

Apparently this is down to a broken motorised valve, which may need replacing or just the head.

This is where I think the diverter valve is...

t83d4o.jpg

Bear in mind I'm a complete layman when it comes to this kind of thing. I assume it's the bottom left hand box.

The pump appears to be functioning as the rads heat up like I said....

2wdpxdu.jpg

From the labels on the boiler I have an Ideal Classic ff250 lxff

The motorised valve is an acl 2 port 679h308 30L1

Please let me know if you think I'm on the right trail and what's involved in replacing the valve if need be.

Thanks in advance

L

Sponsored Links
you don't have a motorised diverter valve
what you have is 2 motorised zone valves one as you identified is an ACL (drayton) the other looks like a myson which may be a motor on motor off valve
these work differently to the ACL which is motor on, spring off

i suspect the myson one is the defective one or there is no hot water off wiring from the timeclock.

just reread the OP and have a question - did it work without hot water on originally? as some systems were wired C/H through the Hot water circuit. the cylinder stat providing the link for C/H when H/W is satisfied.

Hi Kevin,

Thanks for taking the time to respond, the ACL is indeed a motor on spring off (from the sound of it, although I haven't noticed it make the sound since this problem has arisen)