Ideal FF380 boiler fires up when CH & HW OFF. Pls help!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dear EXPERTS,
After a successful outcome previously, I've come back after several years needing some more help! I hope the below information is sufficient, but please ask if I've missed anything.

PROBLEM
My Ideal FF380 boiler fires intermittently (every 10 mins for about 2 mins at a time) even when both CH & HW are switched OFF on the timer. It works perfectly other than this. I've been switching the boiler on&off using the main switch for the last few months which requires early morning wake ups to switch hot water on in advance of my family members needing a shower! I'm tired as a result!

DETAILS
I have the following:
- Ideal FF380 Classic fanned flue boiler
It's approx 8 yrs old
- I have a Lifestyle LP241 timer programmer

MY INVESTIGATION SO FAR...
I'm no expert but having been advised by people at work, I've disconnected the timer (Lifestyle LP241) from the wiring and problem still occurs. Am I right to conclude then that it isn't the timer? My colleague at work suggests it must something in the boiler.

Any suggestions as to what to do next will be most welcome! :) :idea: [/b]
Anya

Sponsored Links
have you got zone valves ? if so one of the end switches has stuck

Thank you so much for your reply. I have 2 valves if I understand your question correctly.
- Danfoss type HPA2
- Honeywell motorised valve V4043H1056

Is there a way in which I can check whether the switch has actually stuck and if yes, do I need to replace the valve or can I fix the switch somehow?

I hope this answers your question but if not, please could you advise me where to look.

Many many thanks!
Anya

Sponsored Links
Hi, I'm pretty sure it hasn't got a frost stat but just to be sure, pls could you advise how I can confirm this please.
Many thanks,
A damsel in distress!

My thought would be that there is water leaking onto the switch in one of the motor valves.