Indesit 1263W Washing Machine Problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello there, I'm a newbie so please bear with me - also, to who it may concern - GREAT WEBSITE !!!

OK, I have an Indesit Washing Machine 1263W and its 10 years old and still going strong - well it was until last friday :)

Problem is it only wants to spin *REALLY FAST* - when I program it for a number 4, it should fill half up with water (which it does) and then perform gentle rotations clockwise and anti clockwise with pauses inbetween, but recently it insists on the attitude of "if I am going to rotate the drum, I'll do it as fast a possible without any gradual spin up!" - so it spins really fast clockwise and then really fast anticlockwise.

This causes the washing machine to bounce around as its got a lot of water in at this point ... it should only spin really fast when its got no (or hardly any) water in it.

History of machine is ...

Was good for 7 years then I replaced the bushes on the motor. Then ran perfectly for another year and a half when ...

It started making groaning noises - at which point I changed the bearings - and has been running fine since, up to now.

I have two main suspects (although no diagnosis yet ... - one is the motor but it seems healthy enough for a fast spin - unless "a bit" of it has gone.

The other main suspect is the Speed Control Unit (ELMARC EM 13 SFB ... I think 1200) - I have checked this also and seems in reasonable cosmetic condition but cannot be sure of component operation.

Any ideas why it just wants to sping really fast all the time instead of gentle spins for the wash and no gradual spin up to full rinse speed?

A bit loathed to shell out £50 for a Speed Control Unit or motor unless I know which one has gone for definite ...

The machine has been used DAILY for 10 years for a family of 4 and I would have no hesitation in buying another Indesit, but christmas is coming and would really hope to stretch it out till next year :)