1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Installing a dul fuel cooker

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by Lupa Monkey, 7 Nov 2013.

  1. Lupa Monkey

    Lupa Monkey

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just bought a new cooker after the door fell off my old one.

    It's a dual fuel cooker. This probably seems like a silly question, but do I need a plumber and an electrician to install it? Last one was put in over 9 years ago and I can't remember what we did then.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. rocks1

    rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Plumber is for water. Wot connections are on the end. Gas or a plug or 6 mm cable.
     
  4. Lupa Monkey

    Lupa Monkey

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, didn't know what the technical term for someone who installs cookers was :rolleyes:

    Present cooker is gas which also has an electric switch hard wired. New cooker description states: 13 Amp power supply required, which according to the instruction manual of my old cooker, is what I have now.
     
  5. rocks1

    rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That means it's got a plug. You should be able just to plug it in. When you say dual fuel is the new one gas or just electric.
     
  6. Lupa Monkey

    Lupa Monkey

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With the present cooker it is wired into the wall, it doesn't have a socket for a plug.

    New cooker hob is gas and oven is electric. But looks like that does have a plug.

    It's probably easier to show you the model (I didn't get it from here though)

    http://bit.ly/1hn2lQK
     
  7. rocks1

    rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's got a plug them plug it in. If it's hard wired it's the same just put the three wires in the old wall socket. If you got a gas bayonet in the old one that just pushes down and pulls off. Then you can just push on the new one. That's as far as you can go. If the gas pipe is not got a bayonet connection then is a gas safe engineer time.
     
  8. Lupa Monkey

    Lupa Monkey

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers Rocks, that's really helpful :)
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page