Installing integrated dishwasher

Sponsored Links
you could connect to it using one of these

60723_P

You will have to trim the pipe back a little to fit it in after the isolation valve though.

There may be other areas on the cold mains where it might be easier to fit it.

Sponsored Links
Nope, that's the sink tap supply, don't need to mess around with that, but you could tee into the pipe below it, the same pipe as the ISO valve but just before it. Is the mains stop tap somewhere in that cupboard too?

Yeah the stop tap is in this cupboard.

So I obviously turn off the mains. But then what? Can’t I just loosen that bronze connector and swap it for a tee?

sorry, I’ve never done anything like this before

Turn off the mains.
You will still have some water in the pipework downstream from stopcock, so open outside tap to allow some of it to escape and have a towel underneath for when you cut into the pipe.
Don't replace the "bronze connector" with the Tee as this is a check valve (non return valve) and needs to be on the supply to the outside tap.
You can put the washing machine tee either on the horizontal pipe that goes to the outside tap (before the isolator) or on the vertical pipe (before the tee to the outside tap).
Beware though that you have at least 2 fixed points and inserting the new washing machine tee may be problematic... Only you will know if you have the wiggle room, we can't tell that from your photos.

I checked myself when I suggested doing it after the isolation valve. Ideally that Isolation valve would be shut off during the winter to stop your outside tap from freezing, so you don't want to slot the vale in after that.

You will need a pipe cutter and couple of adjustable spanner and feel confident then cut out a small section of pipe to the left of that valve, that will allow the appliance valve to be slotted in.