Installing kitchen...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm planning to remove a (small) old kitchen and replace it. The units are from Ikea and most of the appliances are being bought from a seperate supplier.

I'm pretty much committed to doing the majority of the work myself (ie. the removal, the re-flooring, the decorating, the unit installation and other cosmetic stuff).

However, there's a series of tasks I clearly need qualified professionals for: there are no fittings for a dishwasher and one will have to be plumbed in, the hob will be very near the original hob but I'll need a Corgi certified plumber to make the installation safe, I'll need an electrician to move and install points (not least to put the necessary wiring in for an electric oven).

I'm not a total beginner at DIY, but then, most of the jobs I've tackled up to now have been pretty simple. I've never tried to oversee a project that has involved outside professionals coming in.

My questions are therefore:

Am I being naive? Is this a false economy, rather than employing a builder to run the whole thing for me (nb. the quotes I've seen so far have been steep and I'm running out of recommendations)?

If I do go the route I'm thinking of - can I be assured that the kitchen will be safe and meet all current safety standards (because I've employed registered tradesmen to do the work)?

Lastly (unless people here advise me that this isn't a wise route to go) does anyone have advice about how to lay this out clearly in the planning stage, or is there a book or website that helps people like me try to structure these kinds of projects so they run as smoothly and safely as possible?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Ewan Thomson

Sponsored Links
I think you are taking the right approach here.

I took much the same approach. I have done my own kitchen entirely by myself, apart from the gas (still need to find a CORGI to plumb in my hob).