Insurance work

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Im not sure if this is the correct forum BUT does any of you self employed guys do any work for Insurance firms and if so how did you get into it. Ta

PS im a gas engineer/plumber

Sponsored Links
i have done intermittent insurance work.

a potential customer will phone me saying they have a some tiles blown off, or the bath overflowed and the ceiling is down, or the mower went through the patio doors or whatever.

if the customer wants you specifically to do the job, then you need a colleague in the trade who can provide an alternative more expensive quote. this does not guarantee you get the job but it helps.

the customer may even ask you to load the quote to deal with the excess which they have to pay.

once the job is complete, the insurance will either pay the money direct to you or send it to the policy holder, who then pay you.

I'm the same as Noseall on this. I have never done anything specific to obtain work from insurance companies. Through some accident or mishap, a householder might find the name of a plasterer/plumber/builder etc in the yellow pages, or by word of mouth, and phone, asking for a quote for the repair. You then go and look at the job, put in a quote and wait and see if you get it. I can go for long enough without getting an insurance job, and then 2 or 3 come along at once.... Bit like waiting for a bus really. :LOL:

Roughcaster.

i've done insurance work for years. not so much the 'cold calls by clients' but from the insurance companies themselves. if you do alot its very good, but usually there is a 4-6 week delay in getting paid, but once this 4-6 delay is past, money continues to come in week after week. thing is, most insurance companies now are getting their own employed guys so aren't using subbies so much, which i don't mind coz now we still get the work but usually we have to fix the mess their own '£9.50 out of their own academy' trainee plumber has caused.

Sponsored Links