1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

internet through satellite dish

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mrcabrach, 15 Jan 2013.

  1. mrcabrach

    mrcabrach

    Joined:
    17 May 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi the internet speed here is 1214 kbps (bbc i player test result) which seems to be painfully slow and getting worse it also keeps freezing & thats with 1 computer connected never minding when the kids come home from school
    just wondering if anyone has had any expereience with satellite connections & systems as i dont know anyone with that kind of setup
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. danechip

    danechip

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Kettering, Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    These are generally not used in the uk anymore, but is an option if you literally live in the "middle of nowhere". You can call BT or your provider and explain the problem. A Satellite requires a modem on your telephone also as that is the way the upload/uplink works. It will take forever and a day to upload any pics or the like (forget movie clips to youtube/facebook and the like).

    I would seriously forget this plan.

    Dan.
     
  4. LeCutus

    LeCutus

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry Dan, your information is out of date.

    Two way satellite is here and available from £25 per month in the UK.

    http://www.avonlinebroadband.co.uk/packages/

    I know people who are using this type of service and they are very happy.

    The only downside is that it is expensive when compared to ADSL.

    Hope this helps.

    Gary
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. danechip

    danechip

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Kettering, Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oops, My bad :unsure:
     
  6. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    16,941
    Thanks Received:
    1,926
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could get you line checked out, they will threaten a charge but BT checked mine after months of complaint, they changed my line from house to local telephone pole and speeds went from an erratic 1.5mb to steady 5mb .
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    7,700
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And the satellite is only 8gb for that £25.
    After paying £150 setup.

    I have upto 20mb unlimited with Sky for £7.50

    Even if the speeds are slower I would question if a £500 PA increase warrants the extra speed.

    Start checking your own internal lines, have you got extensions on the main socket, have you tried plugging the modem into the test socket (have you even got one?) what do your router logs say?

    What do the BT line testers say?

    IN fact, who is your line with?
    Who is your ISP? Have you contacted them to see if they can improve it?
    Are you in a remote location? BT have been laying lots of fibre throughout many parts of the country.

    So what other avenues have you looked at?
     
  9. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    63,708
    Thanks Received:
    4,542
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My friend in France had a two way sat system for a while.

    Very expensive and upload speed very slow.

    But then they put in a government rural coverage kind of local WiFi system covering up to 2-3 kW from the repeater!
     
  10. GrahamPearce

    GrahamPearce

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "My friend in France had a two way sat system for a while.

    "Very expensive and upload speed very slow."

    That's because the up signal goes via the phone line, to transmit to a sat you need a pretty big dish..... ;)
     
  11. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    63,708
    Thanks Received:
    4,542
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, it was actually an uplink to the sat !

    But it was expensive as well.
     
  12. crunchbucket1

    crunchbucket1

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi,ed crunchbucket here,i live in a caravan and i have an old sattlite dish with a 9 db antenna placed where the lnb used to be also i have a 2000mw wifi usb booster,i have no problem streaming video or anything its as fast as a landline based system 30 quid for the booster that comes with antenna all you need is an extension antenna cable 6 quid and a kind neighbour to get the wep key from ha ha
     
Loading...

Share This Page