Is it ok to not 'stagger' laminate?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Will be laying laminate 'aqua loc' flooring in the kitchen soon..ish and was wondering if it is ok to lay it without staggering it.

I have a galley kitchen and the single length of laminate would run under the units with the plinth over the top.

To me it would be an easy run with no cutting,well maybe a bit for the legs,so just wanted some confirmation that they would be ok to run in a long line.

Just to note that the flooring is running at 90 degrees to the units and all appliances are built in.

Sponsored Links
Sounds good to me, less joints= less to go wrong. :LOL: but i'm no expert on lam flooring but someone will get to you soon. :LOL: ;)

I would definatelt say no. If you run all your joints along the same line there is the oppurtunity for the flooring to lift at that point as the joint has not been locked together with the other boards to each side.

trying to understant this one ;)

if your saying the floor is less than one full visible plank wide and you want to throw the small bit away and start with a new plank then yes

if its more than 1 plank length then you need to stagger the joints and keep the overlap at least 12" [300mm]

Sponsored Links
Exactly Mifty12, not staggering will make the floor unstable in an area that is longer than the lenghts of the planks.
If the area is shorter than the lenghts there is no harm done.

If I read this right then the joint will be hidden away under the kitchen floor units. Wouldn't it be ok to just fix a timber batten across the top of the join and screw it down? Obviously any change of kitchen layout could mean replacing the lot though.

Thanks for the replies everyone.

Here's a pic of what I intended to do.Can put up some more if needed.

fffffjpgnt1.jpg
[/URL]

Is that all the area you're planning to install wood on, or is the area at the top of the picture also going to be 'floored'?