Is my boiler behaving normally?

I had balanced it best as I could. That is turning the first rad down to a crack and then opening each one up a bit more in turn but I still had the problem with the last two.
I don't want to mess about with things at this time of year as most of the house is still OK heat wise. I think I'll wait until the Spring and then take the rads off or perhaps get someone out to have a look at it, as I'm only an occasional plumber!

Sponsored Links
I had balanced it best as I could. That is turning the first rad down to a crack and then opening each one up a bit more in turn but I still had the problem with the last two.
How far open the lockshield valve needs to be depends on (a) the rad output, and (b) where it is in the system. You may find that the rad furthest from the boiler needs the LS valve open less than one that is much closer.

I understand your reluctance to possibly making things worse, but you could try setting every rad's lockshield valve to half a turn open and checking what effect it has. (Write down how many turns open it is now; then you can reset it if things don't improve.

Given the last two rads don't even heat up when all the other are off completely (if I understand the op right) then it can't be balancing.
It would only be that if the furthest rads warmed up fine with the others turned off.

That is turning the first rad down to a crack and then opening each one up a bit more in turn but I still had the problem with the last two