Is this going to be costly?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have recently had a fridge/freezer repair man come out and before he started work he checked the electrics by plugging a device into the socket in the wall. He then informed us that he should not be carrying out any work in our home as the ohms were too high!

the meter gave a reading of 2225 ohms.

I have no knowledge of electrics at all but this is obvioulsy not good. We do have a history of fuse box tripping in our home so ive always wondered if there was problem and now it looks like its been found.

can someone explain to me why this reading would be so high in laymans terms?

My house is over 100yrs old but was gutted 20yrs ago by a builder so im assuming all electrics were updated then.

Cheers
Nadia

Sponsored Links
Post a pic of your electric meter, fuse box and surrounding areas. Does your electric come in over head?

We have recently had a fridge/freezer repair man come out and before he started work he checked the electrics by plugging a device into the socket in the wall. He then informed us that he should not be carrying out any work in our home as the ohms were too high!

the meter gave a reading of 2225 ohms.
I take it he checked more than one socket - and did he tell you it was an Earth Loop Impedance reading?

I have no knowledge of electrics at all but this is obvioulsy not good. We do have a history of fuse box tripping in our home so ive always wondered if there was problem and now it looks like its been found
can someone explain to me why this reading would be so high in laymans terms?.
The Earth Loop Impedance is a reading that is used to determine how quickly your electrical protective devices (MCB fuses) will operate - the lower this reading is the better. You will have either a Supplier provided earth or you will have a spike in the ground on your property.