Joist hangers for rsj

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
About 7 months ago we had a new extension built and had a wall knocked out and an rsj installed. I recently had to lift the floorboards above the rsj as they were squeaking and noticed that the joist hangers have been nailed in and have had their tops cut off. The joists are supporting a brick wall, I am no expert at all but I expected the top of the hanger to wrap onto the top of the rsj and surprised it was only nailed in. Does this contravene building regs?
20200525_170522.jpg
20200525_170619.jpg

Sponsored Links
This happens so often, that a clause prohibiting it is often included in tender specifications. Don't be unduly worried, but this kind of thing can be symptomatic of other bodges, so worth looking deeper. Also, I'd be more concerned about what the joist hanger is actually fixed too! What is that?

They look like square twist nails, they're fine.
Tried to remove a couple once and it's impossible without chiselling the wood.
I agree that the hangers should've been wrapped around the rsj, but not essential as there would be no way to nail them into the top of the rsj.

There are no building regulations for this, but it does contravene the manufacturers installation guidelines and various quality standards such as BS/EN and NHBC guidelines. There should be noggins between the joist too.

Having said that it will probably be OK in the long term.

Sponsored Links
They look like face fix rather than the ones that fold over, with the tops cut off a bit because they're the wrong size. If you can identify them the manufacturer will confirm the nailing pattern (especially if there's a brick wall built on the joists!). If I recall correctly it doesn't have to be every hole. When I did mine they came up a tiny bit tall so there was no wood behind the top hole but I think what I've nailed is more than enough.