Kitchen wiring woes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I am not an electrician so please be gentle and I am fully aware I have been stupid trying to take on this work myself but I got let down by an electrician so ended up doing it myself as a plasterer was coming the day after.

We just moved into a new house and the kitchen wiring looked shoddy at best, a lot of sockets needed moving etc. Even some exposed wires behind the kitchen cabinets (eek!) We have bought a 4.9kw double oven, a gas hob, and an extractor hood. There was an existing 10mm cable leading to an oven connection with a socket above it, I have wired that into a 20amp isolator switch, then from that switch there is a small length of 2.5mm wire going to a 13amp isolator switch. From the 20amp isolator there is a 2.5mm T&E cable which will eventually be installed into the oven. From the 13 amp isolator I am planning on wiring the extractor hood and the gas hob ignition over 2.5mm T&E.

Is any of this safe whatsoever? I am planning on getting an electrician in to test it all but I am mainly worried about the 2.5mm wire feeding the 13amp isolator from the 20amp one (the 10mm feed cable and 2.5mm bridge cable are in the "in" connectors, and the cooker connector is in the "out" connectors on the isolator)

And again, I know that I am ridiculous for trying to do this myself! I am also unsure if its actually 10mm cable. Its definitely alot fatter than the 2.5 I have, like twice the width. Thanks in advance! I've attached a pic for your amusement.

Attachments

• Kitchen.jpg
    Kitchen.jpg
    286.6 KB · Views: 168
Sponsored Links
I've only had a quick glance.
1. Your wiring does not seem right. It should comply with wiring in safe zones. See //www.diynot.com/wiki/Electrics:walls