laminate trim

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A few things I need to concrete in my mind. I'm due to fit a new laminate floor and wanted to know :

1) how best to cut and where to make cuts for the scotia trim. Given that it will be solid oak and not painted. I cannot find lengths in more than 2.4metres. Joints better under or away from radiators?

2) What type of joints to use to join the trim, and the neatest way to cut it. I normally do scribe for internal and mitre for external joints. Same as skirting. But I am not very good at making them neat.

3) start fitting the floor furthest away or closest to the door?

4) any handy tips on fitting laminate around radiators

Thanks for any info

Sponsored Links
if you have painted skirting just use mdf/wood trim and paint the skirting colour

Using oak trim so need to be a little more careful? Not painting it

do you have wooden skirting or painted ??
join lengths at 45 degrees with open end pointing away from main veiwing direction

Sponsored Links
Painted skirting, white eggshell, do you think it will look odd against a oak trim?

If you've got painted skirting boards, and an oak trim, then yes, it'll look odd as the trim will stand out. If you cut your trims at 45 degrees with a mitre saw, and then you can glue them together before fitting them; that'll give you a neater finish.

And start the laminate away from the door, and work towards it.

If you've got painted skirting boards, and an oak trim, then yes, it'll look odd as the trim will stand out. If you cut your trims at 45 degrees with a mitre saw, and then you can glue them together before fitting them; that'll give you a neater finish.

And start the laminate away from the door, and work towards it.

Thanks Doggs. Glue together with mitre bound? Would that work better than PVA? Thanks for your suggestions, I was going to buy the solid oak, and will now go with a primed softwood or mdf as big all suggests.