Large plaster repair & re-skimming

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I need to repair a pretty large hole in the old plaster (see picture). I have removed all loose plaster down to the masonry and need some advice on what type of plaster to use to fill the hole. The hole is about 1m by 40cm by 1.5cm deep. I am new to plastering.
Should I apply a browning plaster first, followed by a finishing plaster? If so, which product/brand do you recommend?
Or can I use a ready-mixed filler - my fear is this will require quite a lot of it, and be expensive.
Should I apply PVA on the brickwork before applying the plaster?

On a second topic, this repair is part of a larger project - i.e. reskimming the whole room (walls and ceiling) on the existing old plaster (see second picture attached). The plaster was wallpapered and I stripped the wallpaper to reveal the old skim coat.
I have a few questions:
- Is PVA required on old plaster that was wallpapered?
- Which skimming coat product should I use? Thistle Multi-finish? Ready-mixed repair & skim product? Joint compound? Any advice on product & brand welcome

As the walls and ceilings will be painted, and not wallpapered, the finish needs to be good and avoid any future cracks. How to avoid the risk of future cracks in the skim coat? I know this can't necessarily be prevented. I could also considering applying a lining wallpaper that can be painted, but much more time consuming...

Thanks

Seb
dsc_0107.jpg
dsc_0108.jpg

Sponsored Links
On a second topic, this repair is part of a larger project - i.e. reskimming the whole room (walls and ceiling) on the existing old plaster (see second picture attached). The plaster was wallpapered and I stripped the wallpaper to reveal the old skim coat.
I have a few questions:
- Is PVA required on old plaster that was wallpapered?
- Which skimming coat product should I use? Thistle Multi-finish? Ready-mixed repair & skim product? Joint compound? Any advice on product & brand welcome