Leak around chimney

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi after the storm the other week we discovered we had a roof leak, it looked like water was getting in around the chimney and running down the chimney into the bedroom.

I got a roofer out and he said the chimney needed repointing and that was to blame.
So he came and re pointed it yesterday.

I had a quick look in the loft this morning and the wood around the chimney looks very wet (it never completely dried out from the storm but it looks to have got worse overnight with the rain we had).

I messaged the roofer and he said the leading looked fine and he has pointed where needed so I am a bit stuck on where to go next.

Can anyone give me there thoughts on likly causes looking at the pictures below

20210130_103433.jpg
20210130_101323.jpg
20210130_101357.jpg
20210130_101433.jpg

Thanks for any advice

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert but the chimney looks like the side needs re pointing.

However from the pictures it looks like a leak and not transfer of dampness through the chimney breast.

I'm no expert but the chimney looks like the side needs re pointing.

However from the pictures it looks like a leak and not transfer of dampness through the chimney breast.

From what I can see from the ground most the pointing seems to have been done on the front face. Although he did tell me he went around the chimney and did where was needed (I don't know whether the different mortar colours makes it look worse or he has just not done the job correctly).

Speaking to him this morning he thinks the water was running behind the leading due to missing mortar, which he said is now fixed.

So I was a bit shocked to see it look worse in the loft this morning as he is telling me all is good.