Leak behind washing machine

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone,

I have a leak behind my washing machine. I noticed it a few weeks ago, but I think I need to get a plumber to fix it as I'm not very good at things like this.

I took a picture. The water inlet pipe has two grey pipes attached to it. Basically, the grey hose at the top goes into my washing machine, and the other grey hose at the bottom goes into my dishwasher.

(Please excuse the messy wall - this is behind my washing machines and I had to pull the bugger out to see this).

The leak is coming from the where the grey top hose connects to the water inlet pipe. You can see a drip on the valve that can turn off the supply to the washing machine. The leak is somewhere around that blue connector. I tried tightening it, but it's fully tightened.

Can someone tell me what those connectors are called, and what I would need to fix it?

As a plumber would probably take advantage of us females, I'd appreciate it if you could tell me the part names and what needs to be done so I can relay it to them and hopefully not sound too dim.

Thank you!

Sharon

Sponsored Links
Sorry - i apologise. I didn't mean to insinuate all plumbers would take advantage.

Is my apology accepted? Can someone provide me with some advise, please?

I'm really, really sorry :oops:

Sharon.

If the drip is coming from the hose screw on connector then you need a replacement washing machine rubber washer (from screwfix in packs of 10 I believe). Easy to do for any hands on DIYer.

If you fancy a go you must turn off the top valve before unscrewing the hose! Put down some old towels too :)

Sponsored Links
I've had a couple of instances like these where a new washer made no difference as the leak was due to the metal ferrule being incorrectly crimped.....if this happens to you, just buy a complete hose, which comes with new washers anyway.
John :)

Thank you for your replies!