Leaking Radiator

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
OK. I am by no means an expert or even an amateur at this, but I always like to try and attempt a repair if it is in my realms of capabilities.

We are having an issue with one of our radiators leaking, except it doesn't seem to be in the usual place.
At the top, there are to ends. One is the air release vent thingie (told you I wasn't knowledgeable :p), and the other side there is a bolt.
The leak is coming from the bolt, dripping on to the bottom section of the radiator and on to the floor.
The bottom of the radiator where it is leaking is now starting to rust, or at least show signs of rust starting.
I have in the past tightened the bolt, which seemed to have worked, but now is becoming less efficient (and currently still very slowly leaking).

The radiator is nearly 8 years old the same age as the house.

We have had issues with one or two other radiators but these seem to be currently fixed.

I will try and post a picture later is I work out how.

Is there a simple remedy to this problem, or is calling out an expert a better idea?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
with the radiator cold turn the valves of each side of the radiator , then crack the nut that joins one of the valves to the radiator & drain the water slowly into a tray . Opening the air vent will speed up the water coming out a bit . You can either drain the whole radiator or just enough to leave some space at the top of the radiator without water in to enable you to remove the 1/2 inch plug in the radiator . You can either get another one from plumbcentre & replace it or wrap ptfe tape around the threads of the old one & screw it back in . Wrap it about 10 times in the direction it will be turning

with the radiator cold turn the valves of each side of the radiator , then crack the nut that joins one of the valves to the radiator & drain the water slowly into a tray .