Lime Mortar v Cement Mortar

W

weegieavlover

I am no expert, just a DIYer so apologies if I get any of my terminology wrong.

In my Garden I have 2 small brick sheds that are built inbetween and joined to my house, neighbours party-wall (their outbuilding is on the other side of mine) and back wall. So they are enclosed on 3 sides and are the old coal and ash outbuildings.

I finally sort the leaks they had and want to line with wood, I don't have to but I want to. As the house and buildings are old the mortar is very dusty and wearing away. I plan to chase the mortar out and repoint so that I do not have to worry about the walls after I have lined them with wood.

So I am only mending the walls on the inside and the bricks look like normal bricks, just dating back to about 1890s-ish.

I am not 100% certain but think the mortar used maybe Lime. So I have a few basic questions:

1) Is there a sure way to know if it is or is not Lime?

2) If it is Lime & it being internal walls on brick sheds/outbuildings does it matter greatly if I use Lime or modern Concrete Mortar?

3) If I do need to use Lime Mortar - can you buy it pre-mixed (just add water) like you can normal concrete mortar?

Sponsored Links
When I moved into my very modest brick-built turn-of-the-last-century town house in central Bristol, I was faced with a similar issue. After I had hacked off the loose plaster from the worst walls, I found very poor brickwork with unfamiliar mortar (OK with my experience, any mortar would have been unfamiliar...;)) It was grey and crumbly and looked as if it contained a variety of materials including ash, which I gather was quite common back then. Anyway after I asked around, my mortar gurus told me it would have been lime mortar and I enquired about using cement products instead and was advised that I should use lime-based mortar really, but that in practice hardly anyone did use lime-based mortar nowadays, except serious restorationists.