Loft Insulation help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have recently moved into a 1960's semi detached house and it has condensation issues in the upstairs bedrooms. The plaster around the windows is cracking and bulging from the damp soaking through them.

Looking in the loft I see that the previous owners have had insulation and boarding fitted and the insulation is pushed right into the eaves, I would think that this is wrong and the main cause of our issues but im no expert. They also have polystyrene wedges pushed into felt under the roof and a note was stapled to the roof saying not to remove them.

Looking outside the house under the eaves I see that there are no vents of the soffits where our neighbour on the other side of the semi has them. Essentially the space between soffits and the loft is completely blocked off.

Has the installer got this all wrong or have they done it right?
I've added some photos of the insulation, the work sheet they left & the damp soaking through above the windows.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_20181028_182523.jpg
    IMG_20181028_182523.jpg
    413.8 KB · Views: 115
  • IMG_20181028_182538.jpg
    IMG_20181028_182538.jpg
    451 KB · Views: 116
  • IMG_20181028_182733.jpg
    IMG_20181028_182733.jpg
    314 KB · Views: 124
  • IMG_20181028_182907.jpg
    IMG_20181028_182907.jpg
    287.3 KB · Views: 120
Sponsored Links
Rich T, good evening.

First post in here? welcome.

OK any highly insulated attic must have a full cross flow of ventilation, by stuffing the insulation into the eaves any possibility of venting has [for a long time] not been on-going..

One way around this will be to simply rip out the insulation that was stuffed into the eaves, if when you do that? there is an appreciable air flow then job done. If when you remove the above? if you see daylight in several places, that may well be enough to get an air flow going? if not have a look at installing "Circular Soffit vents"