1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Looking To Build Office Shed - Need Help With Electrics

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Jagz64, 14 Jun 2010.

  1. Jagz64

    Jagz64

    Joined:
    17 May 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi There

    Looking to build an office shed but want some advice on the best
    way to run a supply to the shed.

    The CU is at the front of the house in the front room and the shed
    will be in the garden.

    The distance between the CU and Shed will be about 40-50 Meters.

    The CU is Split Load RCD.

    I was looking into running an SWA supply cable from the CU to the shed
    but i wanted to know what the max distance is allowed.

    Also I have a spare 2.5mm T&E which i runned not that long ago
    in the kitchen with the new harmonized colours.

    Is there any chance i could use the 2.5mm T&E to supply the shed. ?

    Will only be using the shed for 2 computers, 1 server + lighting and
    maybe a standard 3-pin plug heater.

    Thanks, Jagz
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. davelx

    davelx

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,927
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No kettle, coffee machine? It's quite a walk back to the house in the pouring rain :)

    What is a "standard" heater - 1kW, 2kW, 3kW?
     
  4. Jagz64

    Jagz64

    Joined:
    17 May 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hahahahah i love it :)

    Yeh going to need to add a kettle to the list aswell as a beer fridge and tv.

    as for heater 1KW

    oh and the distance between the house and shed is only 10meters or less.
     
  5. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. HullMarc

    HullMarc

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your house is 30-40 meters long? :confused:

    What sort of route are you planning on running the cable? What's your earthing system?
     
  7. Jagz64

    Jagz64

    Joined:
    17 May 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not to sure mate i ain't measured the house lol...

    I'm just guessing but for you :p i will measure it with my feet and
    then get back to you on how long it is in feet loll. :D

    its a terraced house in north london

    we have an extension as well with a concrete floor so i will have to
    Burry the SWA cable into the wall.

    Not to sure how far in to the brick wall.

    As regards to the earthing system i think its a TN-S system.

    hope that helps.

    I'm just looking to install 4 wall sockets and some spot lights.

    and as for route please see the image.

    Blue is SWA cable.

    Thanks, Jag

     
  8. bongos

    bongos

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,078
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Jag, your descriptions sound a little vague and confusing. I think your best bet here is getting some sparks in to offer quotes and finding out if you can do as much of the 'donkey work' as possible, to their requirements. This will help to save you money.

    You wouldn't want to be chasing walls in your house for SWA either. It might get a bit messy. ;)

    How long did you decide the cable run was in the end? :?:
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. Chri5

    Chri5

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    4,289
    Thanks Received:
    391
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's no reason why you can't use TE 4mm, 6mm or even 10mm in the internal run from CU to external breakout and change over to swa to cover element and mechanical protection.

    You don't seem to have grasped that volt drop comes in to play and we need a fairly accurate distance assessment to offer advice on cable sizing.

    You also need to confirm the load at the shed in watts / kw so the cable can be calculated for drop and installation method.

    So come on stick your nose out and tell us what sized fuse / load you will need:-

    10a = 2300w
    20a = 4600 w
    30a = 6900w

    Be clear about the items in the shed, there's no point running something that trips daily, so assess the use of sockets and come back with the detail requested.
     
  11. Jagz64

    Jagz64

    Joined:
    17 May 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the info guys.

    I will get back to you with the correct details as to whats going to be
    in the shed and also the correct measurements.

    I want some overhead as well just incase as i don't want to be installing
    more cables or changing cables.

    Price is not an issue for me ... Safety is :D

    Thanks, Jagz
     
  12. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. SgtTrojan

    SgtTrojan

    Joined:
    29 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought shed advice was banned on here? :D :D :D :D
     
  14. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends what you mean by "shed"... ;)
     
  15. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,539
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In which case go to www.competentperson.co.uk and do a local search using your post code.

    Problem solved!
     
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page