Loose push fit fitting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Not a plumbing question but connected....

I am making a table out of 22mm copper piping and using copper push fit fittings. I have never used them before as I usually use galvinised steel with connectors tightened by an allen key which gives a solid grip

Using the push fit fittings they all still twist and seem loose when connected. They do not seem to have a tight grip I have tried tapping them with a rubber mallet to see if they need pushing in further but it makes no difference. Apart from being screwed to the floor with flanges and a couple of cross peices the whole thing would just sway around with no stability

Is this normal with push fit ? It connects the pipes but does not actually grip it tight enough to stop it moving ?

Thanks for any advice

Sponsored Links
I'm afraid it is normal with push fit.(n) You might have a better result with end feed fittings glued with epoxy resin instead of soldered

What about compression fittings ? I have used them to fix the pipe to the flange. The olive seems to hold them tight. Would it do the same for pipe to pipe ?

Sponsored Links
No Why ? I am not a plumber.
I am making a table and am using push fit as I said and they are loose so would compression fittings ( that is what it say on the packet) which are tightened with an olive on the tube give me a firmed grip on the pipe.

Its a straight forward question. I just dont know the answer.

Don't worry Union, we don't normally get such basic questions. Okay, you're not a plumber, and you want to make a table; push fits won't work, but compression fittings would, but will work out quite expensive. Have a look on youtube to see how you solder end feed fittings, and then see if it is within your scope.

Yes I know That is what I am trying to do. Using the copper pipes to make a table with two shelves so am using both straight fittings, elbows and "T"s.