LV transformer Q

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to wire up 4 35W LV downlighters, but the 50-150VA transformers I have seen only have 3 output terminals.

Is it OK to parallel up from one lamp to another, or would I be better off using two separate 35-105VA transfomers, with 2 lamps on each?

Sponsored Links
Really? I thought it was beneficial to use a large transformer on multiple lamps. It makes no odds to me for ease of wiring, although 4 separate 20-60VA trannies would be more expensive than 2x35-105 or 1x50-150VA.

Oh and it's in a bathroom, how do I go about notifying building control? Will I have to pay a fee?

I'm an electrical engineer but work on industrial stuff, although I have passed C&G 2381. Does this mean I can do the work but need it to be inspected? I have a friend who is employed as a domestic spark/tester and is under NICEIC, can he test it for me, or does it have to be LBC?

Sponsored Links
Hallsy said:
... 4 separate 20-60VA trannies would be more expensive than 2x35-105 or 1x50-150VA.
The cost difference is negligable.

I suppose, saves losing all the lights at once as well.

Now with the Part P, I never really bothered worrying before, but as we are looking to sell up when finished and many saying that a spark is unlikely to test an installation after work has been done by somebody else, I ofen wonder if I should notify.

If I notify on my bathroom lighting alteration, do they need to then check the whole installation? My understanding is that they should?

What will they want to see? How it is now, then 1st fix, then test once 2nd fix? I really need to crack on with my bathroom and can't **** about waiting for BC to test a simple job at each stage!

Hallsy said:
...I ofen wonder if I should notify.
The law says in what circumstances you must - what's there to wonder about?

If I notify on my bathroom lighting alteration, do they need to then check the whole installation? My understanding is that they should?