1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Mains cable/Alarm cable in same conduit

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by SteveP86, 24 Jan 2017.

  1. SteveP86

    SteveP86

    Joined:
    26 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi there. If I were to run 12-15 Mains T&E cables in the same conduit as approx 10 6 core alarm cables is there a chance of false alarms as a result of capacitive coupling?

    If so are there any steps I can take to reduce the chances?

    Regards
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. omega015

    omega015

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is the alarm cable shielded or unshielded? Its always best to avoid long parallel runs, but I cant say I have ever had false alarms due to this (I have a few installations where this was unavoidable). Are you laying the mains cable or the alarm cable btw?
     
  4. SteveP86

    SteveP86

    Joined:
    26 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for reply

    I've a 100m roll of unshielded. I'm relocating the alarm panel from skirting level at front door to cupboard under stairs. the longest parallel run would only be about 2 meters

    Many thanks
     
  5. omega015

    omega015

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah ok, you made it sound like you was going to be running the mains cable :p So I was going to mention derating of the circuits etc... lol I cant imagine you would get much of an issue with interference. It might not be possible but can you place the panel on the other side of the cupboard and have its own trunking/conduit? That certainly would help any possible interference and/or disruption should there be any electrical work where the alarm cables might get damaged etc..
     
  6. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,964
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't answer categorically but I was taught never to do that, only to cross at 90 degrees, never had a problem
     
  7. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,929
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mains cable should be ran separate to alarm cable otherwise you will get enduced ac voltage on your alarm cables which can cause false alarms when lights are turned on or central heating starts up etc ?
    If you get at multimeter and set range to ac and put positive probe on 12v positive and the negative probe on earth.If you get a reading of more than 2 volts ac then that is bad news.
    You can use a 1313 filter to reduce the ac induced voltage.
    Also depends on control panel make.Some control panels are worst than other for main interence(gardtec 500,800 series,scantronic)
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page