manifolds

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This is my first time on this website and I am not sure if I am posting this question in the correct place. Please could some one tell me where to find 'MANIFOLDS' in a detached house with bedrooms upstairs. Also, would radiators upstairs have a different manifold and radiators downstairs have a separate manifold. Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
Not all systems have manifolds. Of those that do, the manifold is generally in the middle of the house somewhere, sometimes in an airing cupboard. It's more a case of searching than anything else, are there any cupboards it could be hidden in etc. Sometimes manifolds are buried under floorboards and the only way to get at them is to pull carpet and boards up.

Why do you need access to it anyway?

I'm assuming that the pipework to your radiators is in micro bore (normally 8 or 10mm) so that is why you are assuming you have manifolds?

If this is the case then as muggles says the manifold for upstairs will normally feed the upstairs radiators, it will more than likely be in a central position but as already mentioned under the floor boards in cupboard will always be the first place to look, likewise with downstairs.

Cheers.

Not all systems have manifolds. Of those that do, the manifold is generally in the middle of the house somewhere, sometimes in an airing cupboard. It's more a case of searching than anything else, are there any cupboards it could be hidden in etc. Sometimes manifolds are buried under floorboards and the only way to get at them is to pull carpet and boards up.

Why do you need access to it anyway?