Microwave safe with power and cover off?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
The knob on the manual rotating timer of my microwave has come loose and before it goes completely I thought I would take of the cover and see if it is repairable.
If the knob is of the type that is held on to a spindle/shaft by a grub type screw then it may be easily repaired, but from what i`ve read on this forum i`m unsure if there could still be power inside the unit even with the power completely disconnected.
I have a lot of work experience of H & S and diy experience but I`m unsure of this.
Do microwaves/magnetrons hold power when not in use and if so for how long?

Sponsored Links
the power supply capacitors can store thousands of volts for several hours. There are also dangers associated with disturbing seals and interlocks.

Unless you are skilled in EHT work I would strongly advise to leave well alone - a new cheapy is under £30.

A capacitor within the appliance store's a charge of at least 2000 volts an engineer is trained on how to discharge this safely so the appliance can be worked on your not so dont even think about it . In november 2012 a contractor for Marks & Spencer tried to have a go at repairing the microwave in one of the store's canteen's it killed him outright.

The fact you have to ask this should tell you your answer. It is not so much the voltage, but a combination of the high voltage and high current that the transformer / capacitors can provide. The high current means that unlike for instance a taser, which will significantly drop in volts from 50,000 to maybe a couple of hundred on contact, a microwave power supply will not, and you will turn to toast, maybe the one time a microwave does a good job at that particular snack!

Seriously IT WILL KILL YOU if you make a mistake no questions.

Sponsored Links
Not for me to tell you what to do but scare mongering does no-one any use.