Mini Basin Mixer and Tails

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

A newbie here so be gentle...........

Hoping for a bit of advice. I have just bought a mini basin for a small cloakroom. It comes with a MM2 Mini Basin Mixer (S16.001) and this tap is supplied with two loose flexible tails, according to one description I have read, "easy fix".

The question I have is how on earth do you get any kind of tool up inside the tap to tighten the tails on to the tap? Is there some kind of special tool that I need? The bottom of the tap where the tails go up inside is only 30mm dia and the tail connections are 55mm up inside it.

Many Thanks, Keith.

Sponsored Links
You normally fix the flexible connections to the tap assy BEFORE dropping the tails down through the basin tap hole.Connections are then made to copper supplies.The tap is usually secured by a U shaped fitting which is secured by using a box or open ended spanner on the nut provided in the kit.
Depending on access,fit the tap before finally fitting the basin.

Yes, I understand that, the problem I have is how to fix the flexible connectors to the tap. How do I tighten them on to the tap?

I cannot get a spanner inside the tap housing to do it.

This shows the underside of the tap, it is about 55mm up to the holes where the flexible tails have to be connected the bottom of the tap is only 30mm diameter. So the question is how to tighten the tails once they have been done up finger tight?

Sponsored Links
Oh right I see your dilemma.Never come across those b4.The only thing I can suggest is after hand tightening the tails is to maybe use long nose pliers to finish off.The tails have O ring seals and I always apply silicone grease to aid sealing and they don't need to be super tight.Sorry about the confusion.

Thanks.