1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Moe's smart meter to ideal boilet

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by luke morris, 27 Dec 2020.

  1. luke morris

    luke morris

    Joined:
    23 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a moes smart meter wanting to put it on to ideal boiler.

    I only have 2 wires to the theromstat.

    The back of the smart meter I'm guessing needs a 240v power supply? Would I spur off the fused connection for the boiler?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,756
    Thanks Received:
    1,522
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you need a permanent live and permanent neutral wire to power it up, and the x2 switching wires.
     
  4. luke morris

    luke morris

    Joined:
    23 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1.5mm or 2.5 mm core cable
     
  5. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,756
    Thanks Received:
    1,522
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Personally I’d be using 0.75mm sq 5 core flex.
     
  6. luke morris

    luke morris

    Joined:
    23 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wouldn't I spur off the power supply or wiring into the boiler ?
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,756
    Thanks Received:
    1,522
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, you would. However removing the cover on your boiler would need safety checks to be carried out afterwards. Probably best at the spur.
     
  9. luke morris

    luke morris

    Joined:
    23 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and where would the 2 wires to the boiler go from mate into the new smart thermostat? brown which is in live would go to 1 and blue would go to 2 on the smart thermostat?
     
  10. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,756
    Thanks Received:
    1,522
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes mate. L to 1 and switched (blue) to 2.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. luke morris

    luke morris

    Joined:
    23 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers Chris for your help star mate
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    17,421
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As @Chris_W says old wires to 1 and 2, but also needs supply to 3 and 4. It has been debated, if you were using a battery powered thermostat we would not bat an eyelid that the supply to work thermostat and the supply being switched was independent, however most boiler manufacturers seem to say some where that if a 230 volt supply is being used it should be common to boiler and thermostat.

    I can see the point, thermostats like Hive duel channel have an internal connection between the supply to thermostat and supply to boiler, but with a volt free contacts type thermostat it really does not matter where it gets it's supply from, the problem is when some time in the future it is changed again, and some one assumes and does not check.

    As to if we should really need to consider some one in the future not testing first is another question?

    As to going into the boiler that has also become a problem, it seems some manufacturers have put the terminals behind gas tight covers, but the government wants people doing an EICR to consider any fixed equipment as part of the report, so electricians should remove covers to inspect but should not remove covers if gas sealed, so down to manufacturers to clearly indicate when covers are gas sealed. This would mean gas tight glands, as yet not seen any domestic boiler with gas tight glands. i.e. some sign like [​IMG] on the gland, seen it with commercial boilers, but not domestic.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page