more boiler problems!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Re Potterton Performa 24 combi

After getting the PHE cleaned a couple of months ago - it was full of limescale - the water is again not getting properly hot. Problem is as follows:
Turn on HW tap, boiler fires up and heats the water. Burner then goes off (as expected), but takes too long to come back on again. Result being water goes cold before being heated again. So hot-cold-hot etc. [Although when i say hot i really mean only warm!]

In the period when the burner is off the boiler makes a kind of ticking/whirring noise - it's as if it's trying to fire up but can't. I'm by no means an expert, but surely it can't be the PHE again? Could be diaphragm i guess - last time i changed it was about two years ago - but boiler has no problem firing up when tap is first switched on.

What do you guys think?

Cheers.

Sponsored Links
pretty sure it's not DV - ch flow pipe stays cold.
And PHE was properly cleaned (by a pro) only two months ago!

Sounds like the plate is not transferring heat properly.

What did the "limescale" look like?

The boiler should modulate back instead of switching off.

Just because it was cleaned by "a pro" does not instill the view that it was necessarily done properly!

You may have another fault too.

Tony

Sponsored Links
Sounds like the plate is not transferring heat properly.

What did the "limescale" look like?

The boiler should modulate back instead of switching off.

Just because it was cleaned by "a pro" does not instill the view that it was necessarily done properly!

You may have another fault too.

Tony

Tbh i didn't pay much attention to the appearance of the limescale. The guy first tried with a standard (industrial) limescale remover, which improved the situation, but the water didn't get fully hot. He then came back and used Power Flush FX2 instead, which seemed to clean it properly. Indeed, for about a month and a half, i had pretty hot water - even on max flow.